33. Stuttgarter Filmwinter — Festival for Expanded Media

About the Filmwinter Stuttgart – Festival for Expanded Media

For over 30 years, the Festival has been devoted to crossing the border between cinema and media art with an adventurous international programme comprising films, workshops, Expanded Media exhibition and performances for people of all ages. The Festival’s core are the international competitions for short film, Media in Space and Network Culture – flanked by a comprehensive programme.
Every year, the Filmwinter Stuttgart has a new motto that is reflected in the design, supporting programme and the whole aura of the festival. For this year’s edition that took place in January 2019, the Festival Motto was “Wake Me Up". More information about the Festival 2020 will be published in the course of September 2019.

About the Organisers

Wand 5 e.V. are the organisers of the Filmwinter Stuttgart. Supporting independent media culture is the association’s aim and one of their characteristics is to foresee, accompany and question the term of media culture. To do this, more than 30 locations in Stuttgart with various formats have played a part.
Wand 5 are co-founders of „Initiative für ein Neues Kommunales Kino in Stuttgart“ (an initiative to revive the municipal cinema in Stuttgart) and „AG Kurzfilm - Bundesverband Deutscher Kurzfilm“ (Federal Short Film Association for German Short Film).

Team Filmwinter 2019

Festival Directors:
Marcus Kohlbach, Giovanna Thiery

Programme Management Film:
Giovanna Thiery

Programme Management Media in Space & Network Culture:
Marcus Kohlbach

Project Management:
Fabian Kühfuß

Assistant to Programme Management:
Jennifer Roser

Assistant to Festival Directors:
Sofia Müller

Office Organisation and Finances:
Michaela Gronenborn

Tatjana Beck

Guest Management and Accreditation:
Nicole Rebmann

Julia Lenzmann

Catalogue Editor:
Vivien Sigmund

Graphic Concept and Design:
Demian Bern, EXP.Edition

Nici Halschke

Selection Committee Film:
Max Borchert, Täschi Fobler, Hanna Häusser, Kai Krämer, Matthias Müller, Sabine Roschmann, Giovanna Thiery

Selection Committee Media in Space:
Cindy Cordt, Oliver Feigl, Reiner Kling, Marcus Kohlbach, Nadja Weber, Lili Weiss

Selection Committee Network Culture:
Cindy Cordt, Yvy Heussler, Jochen Ludes, Oliver Prechtl, Marcus Kohlbach, Lili Weiss

Curators Supportive Programmes and Specials:
Marcus Kohlbach, Giovanna Thiery

Children´s and Youth Programme:
Giovanna Thiery

Technical Consultant Film:
Thomas Eilenstein

Thomas Eilenstein, Matthias Müller

Media Technician Expanded Media Exhibition:
Werner Wenzel

Assistance to Technician:
Steffen Osvath

Moderation: Nici Halschke, Nicole Rebmann

Jury Support Film:

Jury Support Expanded Media Exhibition:
Lili Weiss

Festival Trailer:
Florian Fischer, Johannes Krell

Alex Kern