Kurzfilme 3

Short Films International Competition
Short Films International Competition
Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Valie


Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz


Austria 2016, Colour, 35 mm, 4:00 Min.
Regie, Script: Björn Kämmerer
Camera: Robert Oberrainer

Björn Kämmerer abstracts objects through quick and sudden motions and other forms of optical and phenomenological confusions. In this way, the film creates an irritation of the view: cutting horizon- tally spreading colours are silently splitting the screen. They tilt, disappear and reappear – in new tones.

Something is burning
Quelque chose brûle

France 2017, Colours, HD, 23:33 Min.
Regie, Script: Mathilde Chavanne
Camera: Victor Zébo
Editing: Suzana Pedro
Sound: Valentine Gelin
Music: Jérôme Petit
Actors: Victoire Du Bois, Jérémie Laheurte

Margot is haunted by memories and dark thoughts. She decides to go back into the mountains where she grew up. In the cold of winter, the shadow of a disap- peared brother resurfaces.

Batrachian’s Ballad
Balada de um Batráquio

Portugal 2016, Colours, HD, 11:00 Min.
Regie, Script, Camera, Editing: Leonor Teles
Sound: Bernardo Theriaga

Like the gypsies, the frogs, made of china, don’t go unnoticed to a careful observer. “Batrachian’s Ballad” comes about in a context of ambiguity. A film that immerses itself in the reality of Portuguese everyday life, as a kind of fable about a xenophobic behaviour.

The Deep West

USA, UK 2016, Colours & B/W, Video, 6:12 Min.
Regie: Chris Saunders

Santa Monica, California: a Beach Boy/Man dances to his headphone music in public. Against this familiar scene of west coast “cool” narcissism Monica’s every “Other” day story of brutal racist aggression is retold and discussed by a white couple as they stroll on the beach.

Drop Out Bodies

France 2017, Colours, HD, 17:13 Min.
Regie, Script: Ludivine Large-Bessette
Camera: Simon Roche
Sound: Arthaud Versaveaud
Music: Mathieu Calmelet
Actors: Aimée Lagrange, Yoann Hourcade, Sandra Savin, Uma Cafenne, Anne Quaderi, Ann Papoulis Adamovic, Simon Frenay, Sébastien Perrault

A group of men and women are each standing still in front of their houses in a residential area. As the camera moves among them, they fall, one by one, in a random pattern. Their collapses are clearly irrevocable. The film questions the fatality of the human body andour individual and collective responsibilities in our complex time.

The Inland Sea

Finnland 2017, Colour, HD, 14:49 Min.
Regie, Script: Marja Viitahuhta
Camera: Sini Liimatainen, Marja Viitahuhta
Editing: Ville Vainio
Sound: Tuukka Haapakorpi
Actors: Noora Dadu, Zrian Hussein (Voice-over)

Two stories related to parenthood and fear of loss of ones child at the sea, based on real events. The first one describes an incident where the daughter of a Finnish woman nearly drowned on a holiday trip, the latter is based on the memories of a Kurdish refugee who escaped Iraq and ended up in a smuggler boat with her husband and young child.


Germany 2017, B/W, 16 mm, 12:00 Min.
Regie, Script, Camera: Telemach Wiesinger
Music: Alexander Grebtschenko

Clouds are fascinating. In an ever-changing way, they keep finding new, ephemeral forms. Moments and events that are unique. The filmic poem “Transformation” deals with 100% possibility of rain, shows in the sky and their reflections in the water plus transformation and imagination.

Kurzfilme 3

Kurzfilme Internationaler Wettbewerb
Kurzfilme Internationaler Wettbewerb
Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Valie

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Untitled

Österreich 2016, Farbe, 35 mm, 4:00 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch: Björn Kämmerer
Kamera: Robert Oberrainer

Björn Kämmerer abstrahiert Objekte durch kurze, überraschende Bewegungen und andere Formen optischer oder phänomenologischer Verwirrung. Der Film erzeugt so eine Verunsicherung des Blicks: Schneidende, horizontal verlaufende Farben schlitzen stumm die Leinwand. Kippen, verschwinden und tauchen wieder auf – in neuer Färbung.

SOmething is burning
Quelque chose brûle

Frankreich 2017, Farbe, HD, 23:33 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch: Mathilde Chavanne
Kamera: Victor Zébo
Schnitt: Suzana Pedro
Ton: Valentine Gelin
Musik: Jérôme Petit
DarstellerInnen: Victoire Du Bois, Jérémie Laheurte

Margot wird von Erinnerungen und dunklen Gedanken geplagt. Sie entschließt sich, wieder in die Berge zu gehen, wo sie aufgewachsen ist. In der Winterkälte kommt der Schatten eines verschwundenen Bruders wieder zum Vorschein.

Batrachian’s Ballad
Balada de um Batráquio

Portugal 2016, Farbe, HD, 11:00 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera, Schnitt: Leonor Teles
Ton: Bernardo Theriaga

Wie Zigeuner bleiben die Prozellanfrösche dem wachen Beobachter nicht verborgen. „Batrachian’s Ballad“ kam durch die Ambiguität des Kontextes zustande. Ein Film, der sich mitten in die Realität des portugiesischen Alltags begibt, wie eine Art Fabel über fremdenfeindliches Benehmen.

The Deep West

USA, Großbritannien 2016, Farbe & S/W, Video, 6:12 Min.
Regie: Chris Saunders

Santa Monica, Kalifornien: ein Strandjunge bzw. ein Mann tanzt öffentlich zu der Musik aus seinen Kopfhörern. Vor dem Hintergrund dieser bekannten Szene des „coolen“ Westküsten-Narzissmus wird Monicas Alltagsgeschichte über brutale rassistische Aggression von einem weißen Paar erzählt und diskutiert.

Drop Out Bodies

Frankreich 2017, Farbe, HD, 17:13 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch: Ludivine Large-Bessette
Kamera: Simon Roche
Ton: Arthaud Versaveaud
Musik: Mathieu Calmelet
DarstellerInnen: Aimée Lagrange, Yoann Hourcade, Sandra Savin, Uma Cafenne, Anne Quaderi, Ann Papoulis Adamovic, Simon Frenay, Sébastien Perrault

Eine Gruppe von Männern und Frauen steht in einem Wohngebiet vor ihren Häusern. Als die Kamera sich zu bewegen beginnt, fallen sie einer nach dem andern zu Boden. Die Zusammenbrüche sind offenkundig irreversibel. Der Film hinterfragt die Letalität des menschlichen Körpers und unsere individuelle und kollektive Verantwortung in diesen komplexen Zeiten.

The Inland Sea
Sisamäri

Finnland 2017, Farbe, HD, 14:49 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch: Marja Viitahuhta
Kamera: Sini Liimatainen, Marja Viitahuhta
Schnitt: Ville Vainio
Ton: Tuukka Haapakorpi
DarstellerInnen: Noora Dadu, Zrian Hussein (Voice-over)

Zwei Geschichten über Eltern und ihre Angst, Kinder auf See zu verlieren, basierend auf wahren Begebenheiten. Die erste zeigt einen Vorfall, bei dem die Tochter einer Finnin während eines Urlaubsausflugs beinahe ertrinkt, die zweite eine kurdische Flüchtlingsfrau, die aus dem Irak flieht und mit Mann und Kind im Boot eines Schmugglers endet.

Transformation

Deutschland 2017, S/W, 16 mm, 12:00 Min.
Regie, Drehbuch, Kamera: Telemach Wiesinger
Musik: Alexander Grebtschenko

Wolken faszinieren. In stetigem Wandel finden sie zu immer neuen, ephemeren Formen. Augenblicke und Ereignisse, die einzigartig sind. Das Filmpoem „Transformation“ handelt von 100% Regenwahrscheinlichkeit, Himmelsschauspielen und ihren Spiegelungen im Wasser, plus Verwandlung und Phantasie.