34. Stuttgarter Filmwinter — Festival for Expanded Media

Requirements for participation

There is no fee for selected works. Submitted works should not be older than production year 2019. Works submitted before during the last years are excluded. Exception: Submitted short films that are selected for the »International Short Film Competition« of the respective year and that cannot be shown due to competing premiere options (e.g. Berlinale).

Film & Video (International Short Film Competition, 2 Minutes Short Film, Supporting Program)The screening copy of the films should have German or English subtitles. A dialogue script is sufficient for the preview copy. In the online submission form the preview copy must be submitted via link and be available until the end of January 2021. Films and videos submitted to the »International Short Film Competition« can’t be longer than 30 minutes. Submitted films and videos being longer than 30 minutes may run in a special programme outside the competition. Participants of the 2 Minutes Short Film Award should not be older than the age of 35. Commissioned works and trailers are excluded from the participation. The winner films will be screened at a special event after the Filmwinter.

Media in Space, Network Culture (Expanded Media Exhibition)Submissions can include installations, augmented reality, VR projects, media based performances, works of net art and app-based projects or works, and works at the intersection of Media in Space, Network Culture and Performing Arts. Please, enclose information about the work, illustrative material, detailed plans, and a technical requirement list (including insurance value of required equipment and/or equipment/material that can eventually be provided).

AV performances and live actsFor the supporting programme, we are looking for current positions at the intersection of expanded cinema, media and net art, and/or positions that cleverly link digital culture to the analogue and redefine this interface. (In individual cases, we reserve the right, after consultation with the artists, to include submissions in this area in our competition categories).

Confirmations and Cancellations for the CompetitionsNotifications of confirmations for the competitions will be send out in December 2020 by email, notifications of cancellations will be send out before the start of the festival.

ShipmentThe applicant must cover shipment/mailing costs for preview material and screening copies to Stuttgart. The return shipment for the screening copies will be covered by Wand 5 e.V.Return of the preview material on request only by sending an e-mail to archiv@wand5.de. Selected works will be kept in Wand 5´s archive. Entries from abroad must bear the notice: »Temporary import - no commercial value«. For shipment of screening copies from outside of the European Community, please, include a pro forma invoice with a declaration of value not exceeding 50 US $. The screening copies have to arrive at the festival office before December 20th, 2020.

InsuranceThe screening copies and installations are insured for the value of the material from the date of arrival until the date of return. Claims for damages have to be put in immediately after the return.

34. Stuttgarter Filmwinter — Festival for Expanded Media

Teilnahmebedingungen

Für eingereichte Arbeiten, die ausgewählt werden, wird kein Honorar/Filmmiete bezahlt. Das Produktionsjahr der eingereichten Arbeiten darf nicht älter als 2019 sein. Arbeiten, die bereits in den vergangenen Jahren eingereicht wurden, sind von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen. Ausnahme: Eingereichte Kurzfilme, die nach Zusage für den für den »Internationalen Kurzfilmwettbewerb« des jeweiligen Jahres aufgrund konkurrierender Premieren-Optionen nicht gezeigt werden (z.B. Berlinale).

Film und Video (Internationaler Kurzfilmwettbewerb, 2 Minutes Short Film Award, Supporting Program)Filme sollten in der Vorführkopie deutsche oder englische Untertitel haben. Für die Ansichtskopie reicht eine Dialogliste aus. Die Ansichtskopie wird im Online Bewerbungsformular per Link eingereicht und muss bis Ende Januar 2021 abrufbar sein. Filme und Videos für den »Internationalen Kurzfilmwettbewerb« dürfen nicht länger als 30 Minuten sein. Eingesandte Langfilme werden, wenn ausgewählt, in Sonderprogrammen gezeigt. TeilnehmerInnen für den 2 Minutes Short Film Award dürfen nicht älter als 35 Jahre sein. Auftragsarbeiten und Trailer sind von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen. Die Gewinnerfilme werden in einer Sonderveranstaltung nach dem Filmwinter gezeigt.

Medien im Raum, Network Culture (Expanded Media Ausstellung)Eingereicht werden können Installationen, Augmented Reality, VR Projekte, medienbasierte Performances, Netzkunst und app-basierte Arbeiten, sowie Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle zwischen Medien im Raum, Network Culture und zeitgenössischen Formen der darstellenden Künste.Bitte der Anmeldung ausführliches Informations-, Anschauungsmaterial und Pläne beifügen, sowie eine technische Anforderungsliste (einschließlich Versicherungswert des erforderlichen Equipments und/oder des Equipments/Material, welches eventuell zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann).

AV Performances und Live-ActsFür das Rahmenprogramm suchen wir aktuelle und grenzüberschreitende Positionen und/oder Positionen, die digitale Kultur auf raffinierte Art und Weise mit dem Analogen verbindet und diese Schnittstelle neu definiert. (In Einzelfällen behalten wir uns vor nach Absprache mit den KünstlerInnen, Bewerbungen in diesem Bereich in die Wettbewerbe aufzunehmen).

Versendung von Zusagen und Absagen für die WettbewerbeZusagen zu den Wettbewerben erfolgen im Dezember 2020 per Email. Absagen werden vor Beginn des Festivals versendet.

VersandDen Hinversand des Ansichtsmaterials und der Vorführkopien zahlen die AnmelderInnen, der Rückversand erfolgt frei durch den Veranstalter. Rückversand des Ansichtsmaterials nur auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch per E-Mail an archiv@wand5.de frei durch den Veranstalter. Angenommene Arbeiten verbleiben im Wand 5 Archiv. Sendungen aus dem Ausland müssen den Hinweis tragen: »Vorübergehende Einfuhr – keine kommerzielle Nutzung«. Vorführkopien aus Nicht-EU-Ländern muss eine »pro forma invoice« mit Wertangabe unter 50 US $ beiliegen. Die Vorführkopien müssen bis zum 20. Dezember 2020 im Festivalbüro eintreffen.

VersicherungDie Vorführkopien und Installationen sind vom Zeitpunkt der Ankunft bis zum Rückversand mit dem Materialwert versichert. Etwaige Schadensersatzansprüche sind sofort nach Erhalt der Rücksendung geltend zu machen.