33. Stuttgarter Filmwinter — Festival for Expanded Media

Jury & Awards

International Short Film Competition

Each year 60 to 70 films from more than 1,500 entries are selected to compete in the International Short Film Competition that exists already since 1990. Only the most innovative, best, daring, experimental and original films of the last year make it into the competition. An independent selection committee consisting of Wand 5-members and film lovers doing this job voluntarily is in charge of viewing and selecting the entries and compiling the programmes.

The Stuttgarter Filmwinter is happy to host many film makers coming to Stuttgart to present their works in person and discuss them with the audience. The following awards are bestowed by the Short Film Jury, in person: Michel Klöfkorn, João Salaviza and Anka Wenzel.

Norman 2020
The jury’s award for film and video of 4,000 euros donated by the Land capital Stuttgart.

Award for the best team work, i.e. a film or a video production made in a joint effort by at least two people, donated with 2,000 euros by Ritter Sport.

Wand 5 Award
Our legendary Wand 5 team special price award!

2 Minutes Short Film Award

For the eighth time, Filmwinter Stuttgart has called for submissions from emerging artists up to the age of 35 to take part in this international short film competition for films of up to 2 minutes. The jury, comprising Miriam Gossing & Lina Sieckmann and Peter Holl will assess works that realize the format in a creative and innovative way. All films will be screened at Saturday, 18th of January 2020 at 07:00pm at FITZ! Cinema.

2 Minutes Short Film Award
The jury prize with an amount of 1,500 euros for a work up to a maximum of 2 minutes is sponsored by SAE Institute Stuttgart.

Expanded Media Exhibition

Besides the classic presentation of samples of film and video art at the Filmwinter Stuttgart since 1996, new media were included and works of art presented on CD-Rom and on the internet. An independent selection committee is in charge of viewing and selecting the entries for the exhibition. The committee is consisting of Wand 5-members, artists and connoisseurs of media art doing this job voluntarily. The exhibition features positions reflecting society, performances, installations, performative videos, interactive projects and the social web as well as technically refined transformations of the internet. The following awards are bestowed by the jury, in person: Ursula Drees, Helen Varley Jamieson, and Robert Seidel.

Expanded Media Award for Media in Space
The jury’s award for Media in Space (installations) of 750 euros.

Expanded Media Award for Network Culture
Network Culture Jury Award with a cash prize of 750 euros for network activities, net art, interventions in public and virtual space.