The Virtual Watchers – Questioning The Crowdsourcing Of National Security Through Social Networks And Gamification Strategies
Artist Talk: Joana Moll (engl.)
11:00 – 12:00 Uhr

Joana Moll, a member of this year’s Expanded Media Exhibition, will present “The Virtual Watchers” and give some insight into the background in an accompanying artist talk.

The Virtual Watchers questions the dynamics of crowdsourcing the national security and border control through social media. The project focuses on the exchanges that occurred within a Facebook group that gathered American volunteers ready to monitor US-Mexico border through an online platform that displayed live screenings of CCTV cameras. The declared aim of this operation was to bring American citizens to participate in reducing border crime and block the entrance of illegal immigration to the US by means of crowdsourcing.

This initiative, a public-private partnership, was originally launched in 2008 and consisted of a website and a network of 200 cameras and sensors located in strategic areas along the US Mexico border. Some of these cameras were also installed in the private properties of volunteering citizens. The online platform gave free access to the camera broadcasts 24/7 and allowed users to report anonymously if they noticed any suspicious activity on the border.

The Virtual Watchers offers an interactive window that allows the public to access some of the original video feeds recorded by the RedServant’s surveillance cameras, and dive into the conversations, jokes, and questionings of the Facebook group that gathered some of the volunteering citizens that actively used the platform. By doing so, it highlights to what extent the emotional investment and exchanges of these people work as an essential mechanism in the construction and legitimization of a post-panoptic system.

Wed 18 – Sun 22 January 2017
The work is on display during opening times of the festival in the Fitz! Foyer
http://virtualwatchers.de

Kunstbezirk

Leonhardsplatz 28, 70182 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / Bus: Haltestelle Rathaus

The Virtual Watchers – Questioning The Crowdsourcing Of National Security Through Social Networks And Gamification Strategies
Artist Talk: Joana Moll (engl.)
11:00 – 12:00 Uhr

In einem begleitenden Künstlergespräch wird Joana Moll, diesjährige Jurorin der Expanded Media Ausstellung, die Arbeit „The Virtual Watchers“ vorstellen und über die Hintergründe berichten.

The Virtual Watchers hinterfragt kritisch, inwiefern Crowdsourcing via soziale Medien für Belange der nationalen Sicherheit und Grenzkontrolle verwendet werden kann. Dabei beleuchtet das Projekt die Kommunikation innerhalb einer Facebook-Gruppe, in der Freiwillige gesucht wurden, die bereit waren, die Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko über eine Online-Plattform mit Live- Aufnahmen von Überwachungskameras zu beobachten. Das erklärte Ziel dieser Operation war es, amerikanische Bürger am Rückgang der Grenzkriminalität und an der Blockade von illegalen Eindringlingen in die USA mithilfe von Crowdsourcing zu beteiligen.

Diese Initiative – eine Partnerschaft von privater und öffentlicher Hand – wurde ursprünglich im Jahr 2008 ins Leben gerufen. Sie bestand aus einer Webseite und einem Netzwerk aus 200 Kameras und Sensoren, die an strategischen Punkten entlang der Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko aufgestellt waren. Manche der Kameras waren auch auf den Privatgrundstücken der Bürger platziert, die sich freiwillig gemeldet hatten. Die Online-Plattform bot rund um die Uhr freien Zugang zu den Kamera-Aufzeichnungen und die Nutzer konnten ihre Beobachtungen verdächtiger Aktivitäten anonym melden.

The Virtual Watchers bietet ein interaktives Fenster, durch das man Zugang zu Original-Videofeeds erhält, die von den RedServant-Überwachungskameras aufgezeichnet wurden, und zu Unterhaltungen, Witzen und Befragungen der Facebook-Gruppe, die einige der freiwilligen und aktiven Nutzer der Plattform erstellt hatten. Auf diese Weise wird verdeutlicht, wie weit sich diese Leute emotional einbringen und austauschen und wie dies als essentieller Mechanismus in der Konstruktion und Legitimation eines post-
panoptischen Systems wirkt.

Mi 18.01. – So 22.01.2017
Zu besichtigen während der Öffnungszeiten für Festivalveranstaltungen. Foyer FITZ!
http://virtualwatchers.de

Kunstbezirk

Leonhardsplatz 28, 70182 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / Bus: Haltestelle Rathaus