Contemporary Italian short films

Presented by Ulrich Wegenast, Artististic Director Stuttgart Festival 0f Animated Film
In Cooperation with Istituto Italiano di Cultura Stuttgart
A compilation by Paola Bistrot and Andrea Martignoni (attending)

FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater, Studio, Theater tri-bühne

Kulturareal „Unterm Turm“, Eberhardstraße 61, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / S-Bahn: Haltestelle Stadtmitte / Bus: Haltestelle Wilhelmsbau

Pandemonio

Italien 2015, 3:00 Min.
Regie: Valerio Spinelli

Pandemonio is a kaleidoscope of monsters, animals and other strange creatures that come to life at the hectic and primitive pace of the music of the Zu. The animation is achieved by moving, resizing and coloring overlapping circles of felt without ever deforming them, they are scanned and then digitally composited.

La testa tra le nuvole

Italien 2013, 7:50 Min.
Regie: Roberto Catani

A child’s daydream during a school lesson is abruptly interrupted by the teacher. The “instructor” threatens to cut off an ear to his young student to “stimulate” the concentration and prevent further escapes into the realm of Imagination.

The Age of Rust

Italien 2014, 7:17 Min.
Regie: Francesco Aber, Alessandro Mattei

An extraordinary documentary about the incredible “Petramosaurus Cavator,” a native of the beautiful Alps. From fierce fighting to the miracle of birth, we will get to know the incredible life cycle of this beautiful species, and in particular its relationship with man and our planet.

Kurgan

Italien 2013, 5:04 Min.
Regie: Igor Imhoff

The meaning of Kurgan is tomb, and a deathly feeling predominates in an intentionally hyper-realistic setting, realized with a technique in 3D. In this context, the characters materialize, two ghosts or rather simulacra, who immediately oppose each other in a fight for the last particle.

Pluto 3000

Italien 2014, 1:16 Min.
Regie: Fabio Tonetto

An unsuccessful attempt to create the best Pluto of all time.

Ralph Plays D’oh!

Italien 2016, 0:36 Min.
Regie: Fabio Tonetto

The graphic distortions of a popular animated character like Ralph from the series “The Simpsons” continues Fabio Tonetto’s irreverent streak, in which he cleverly plays with myths and transforms them at his will.

Portrait

Italien 2014, 2:51 Min.
Regie: Donato Sansone

“The film is a digital expression of the combination of two exercised practices: painting and the profession of videomaker, as well as special effects compositor. I mixed all these things in this work, leading to the extreme consequences of my painting disposition and my vocation to the horror and dreamlike dimension, ever-present in my works.”

Venditori Ambulanti

Italien 2015, 5:02 Min.
Regie: Michele Bernardi

Sicilian musician Alfio Antico lives deeply attached to his land, to its traditions and to its painful and cruel rituals. The images of the earth, the wind and of dreams blend with a repetitive and tantric music that echoes the voice of the Sicilian street vendors.

Haircut

Frankreich/Italien 2015, 8:08 Min.
Regie: Virginia Mori

A teacher and her student linger in an empty classroom. Through their eyes and their gestures, a particular battle begins. Through the extreme minimalism of their actions and the very dynamics of the unfolding scene, there is a shift and an overcoming of a state, an initiation ritual that culminates in the cutting of a long braid.

La Flèche Delta

Italien/Frankreich 2014, 8:55 Min.
Regie: Francesco Vecchi

Playing bingo in a medieval baptistery in the middle of a forest. A priest, peasants and strange creatures try to win the first prize: a miniature airplane. Meanwhile, on the roof there is a jolly party with music. Set in Parma, the characters of this film are shadow puppets.

Soil is Alive

Italien 2015, 8:00 Min.
Regie: Beatrice Pucci

“Soil is Alive” is a dark tale, without heroes. It is like a lens which lets us look under the leaves. Its aim is to communicate the concept of the common good. There are eight characters, three live in a building and wear wigs, five live in the woods and are bald. The story finishes on a positive note thanks to a seed.

Cosmoetico

Italien 2015, 4:46 Min.
Regie: Martina Scarpelli

What was it like, before the birth of the universe? Does reality exist? A girl tries to answer these big questions. In doing this, she imagines she can empty the universe to get to the very first portion of the cosmos. Looking at that small point, she stops and asks herself: shall I destroy myself? Or shall I destroy the universe?

San Laszlo contro Santa Maria Egiziaca

Italien 2014, 2:44 Min.
Regie: Magda Guidi

The film is a play with a crazy subject: apocalyptic battle among ravenous monsters, B-series saints, crooked friends, inept godheads, resuscitated punk rockers. St. Laszlo’s dancing, beating and punching.

FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater, Studio, Theater tri-bühne

Kulturareal „Unterm Turm“, Eberhardstraße 61, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / S-Bahn: Haltestelle Stadtmitte / Bus: Haltestelle Wilhelmsbau

Pandemonio

Italien 2015, 3:00 Min.
Regie: Valerio Spinelli

Pandemonio ist ein Kaleidoskop aus Monstern, Tieren und anderen Kreaturen, die zum hektisch-primitiven Rhythmus der Musik von Zu zum Leben erweckt werden. Die Animation entstand durch das Bewegen, Bearbeiten und Kolorieren von sich überlagernden Kreisen aus Filz. Diese werden dabei nicht deformiert, sondern eingescannt und digital zusammengestellt.

La testa tra le nuvole

Italien 2013, 7:50 Min.
Regie: Roberto Catani

Der Tagtraum eines Kindes während der Schulstunde wird vom Lehrer abrupt unterbrochen. Der „Lehrmeister“ droht dem jungen Schüler ein Ohr abzuschneiden, um seine Konzentration anzukurbeln und eine weitere Flucht ins Reich der Fantasie zu verhindern.

The Age of Rust

Italien 2014, 7:17 Min.
Regie: Francesco Aber, Alessandro Mattei

Ein außergewöhnlicher Dokumentarfilm über den unglaublichen „Petramosaurus Cavator“, der in den wunderschönen Alpen beheimatet ist. Vom den heftigen Kämpfen bis zum Wunder der Geburt erfahren wir alles über den unfassbaren Kreislauf des Lebens dieser wunderbaren Spezies und vor allem auch über deren Beziehung zum Mensch und unserem Planeten.

Kurgan

Italien 2013, 5:04 Min.
Regie: Igor Imhoff

Kurgan bedeutet Grab und ein Gefühl des Todes bestimmt auch die absichtlich hyperreal anmutende Kulisse, die mit einer 3D-Technik erzeugt wurde. In diesem Kontext tauchen die Figuren auf – zwei Geister oder eher Scheinbilder, die sich direkt in einem Kampf um die letzten Partikeln gegenüberstehen.

Pluto 3000

Italien 2014, 1:16 Min.
Regie: Fabio Tonetto

Ein erfolgloser Versuch, den besten Pluto aller Zeiten zu erschaffen.

Ralph Plays D’oh!

Italien 2016, 0:36 Min.
Regie: Fabio Tonetto

Mit der grafischen Verzerrung einer beliebten Animationsfigur, z.B. Ralph aus der Serie „The Simpsons“, führt Fabio Tonetto seinen ehrfurchtslosen Duktus weiter, in dem er sehr smart mit Mythen spielt und sie ganz nach seinem Belieben verändert.

Portrait

Italien 2014, 2:51 Min.
Regie: Donato Sansone

„Der Film ist ein digitaler Ausdruck der Kombination zweier Praktiken: Malen und des Berufs des Videomachers und Spezialeffekte-Compositors. In dieser Arbeit habe ich alle diese Dinge vermischt, mit extremen Konsequenzen für die Komposition meiner Malerei und meiner Neigung zur horror- und traumartigen Dimension, die in meinen Arbeiten immer präsent ist.“

Venditori Ambulanti

Italien 2015, 5:02 Min.
Regie: Michele Bernardi

Der sizilianische Musiker Alfio Antico ist stark verbunden mit seinem Land, seinen Traditionen und schmerzhaften und grausamen Ritualen. Bilder der Erde, des Windes und aus Träumen verschmelzen mit der repetitiven und tantrischen Musik, in der die Stimmen der sizilianischen Straßenhändler widerhallen.

Haircut

Frankreich/Italien 2015, 8:08 Min.
Regie: Virginia Mori

Eine Lehrerin und ihr Schüler sitzen in einem leeren Klassenzimmer. Mit Blicken und Gesten beginnen sie einen speziellen Kampf. Der extreme Minimalismus ihres Tuns und die Dynamik der entstehenden Szene führen zu einer Verschiebung und der Überwindung eines Zustands, zu einem Initiationsritual, das im Abschneiden eines langen Zopfes gipfelt.

La Flèche Delta

Italien/Frankreich 2014, 8:55 Min.
Regie: Francesco Vecchi

In einer mittelalterlichen Kapelle mitten im Wald wird Bingo gespielt. Ein Priester, Heiden und merkwürdige Kreaturen versuchen den ersten Preis zu gewinnen: ein Miniatur-Flugzeug. Unterdessen findet auf dem Dach eine fröhliche Party statt. Die Charaktere dieses in Parma spielenden Films sind Schattenfiguren.

Soil is Alive

Italien 2015, 8:00 Min.
Regie: Beatrice Pucci

„Soil is Alive“ ist eine dunkle Geschichte ohne Helden. Der Film ist wie eine Linse, mit der wir unter die Blätter sehen können. Sein Ziel: das Konzept des Gemeinguts zu kommunizieren. Es gibt acht Charaktere, drei leben in einem Gebäude und tragen Perücken und fünf leben in den Wäldern und haben Glatzen. Dank eines Samens geht die Geschichte gut aus.

Cosmoetico

Italien 2015, 4:46 Min.
Regie: Martina Scarpelli

Was war vor der Geburt des Universums? Existiert die Realität? Ein Mädchen versucht, diese großen Fragen zu beantworten. Dabei stellt sie sich vor, dass sie das Universum entleeren kann, um zum allerersten Teil des Kosmos zu gelangen. Sie schaut darauf, hält inne und fragt sich: Soll ich mich zerstören? Oder soll ich das Universum zerstören?

San Laszlo contro Santa Maria Egiziaca

Italien 2014, 2:44 Min.
Regie: Magda Guidi

Der Film spielt mit einem verrückten Thema: der apokalyptische Kampf zwischen gefräßigen Monstern, Heiligen aus B-Serien, falschen Freunden, unfähigen Gottheiten, wiederbelebten Punk-Rockern. St. Laszlo tanzt, schlägt und haut rein.