PRELUDE: CLOSE ALLIANCE

Contemporary Experimental Films and Video Art from Germany
Präsentiert von AG Kurzfilm und German Films, Premiere

For the third time the German Short Film Association puts together a compilation of emerging artists. As the subtitle indicates,
it is supposed to highlight contemporary experimental films and video art from Germany. It is remarkable that film and video art can be brought together in one compilation – two worlds which seemed to fundamentally exclude each other until recently; two contrasted audiences were targeted, two different approaches to production were pursued.

But this compilation is symptomatic of a recent development in the moving image industry. In the last years the borders between cinema and art world have melted away. Film festivals allover the world but also the art markets show that filmmakers and artists are seeking solidarity. 

Eventually what we call it now – experimental film, short film, artists’ film, video art, time based media art - will perhaps become irrelevant. Yet, it is crucial to see that also young artists have something to say, that they make a significant contribution to the current discourse. Because it is only
with real innovations and new inputs that something shall develop. In this sense it is very exciting to present the emerging artists that were selected this year. Marlene Denningmann, Alexandar Radan, Lotte Meret, Patrick Buhr, Vanessa Nica Mueller, Ines Christine and Kirsten Carina Geißer, NEOZOON and Rainer Kohlberg – these are names we certainly will encounter more often in the coming years.

Olaf Stüber is the initiator and curator of Videoart at Midnight, an artists’ cinema project in Berlin, which he runs with the collector Ivo Wessel. He is also the publisher of Videoart at Midnight Edition, lecturer and art adviser.

Alfred Rotert (European Media Art Festival Osnabrück), Giovanna Thiery ( Stuttgarter Filmwinter-Festival for Expanded Media), Anne Turek (AG Kurzfilm),  Insa Wiese (International Short Film Week Regensburg), Gerhard Wissner (Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival), were the members of the jury who selected the works from more than 120 submissions.

FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater, Studio, Theater tri-bühne

Kulturareal „Unterm Turm“, Eberhardstraße 61, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / S-Bahn: Haltestelle Stadtmitte / Bus: Haltestelle Wilhelmsbau

Wunschkonzert

Deutschland 2016, 12:47 Min.
Regie: Marlene Denningmann

A collective is a social entity, whose voluntarily organizing members are connected by joint action. In this definition the term “harmony” refers to harmonizing sounds. The syllables are separated as follows: a society in which every individual can make their dreams come true by performance and competition.

in between identities

Deutschland 2015, 8:50 Min.
Regie: Aleksandar Radan

Somehow voyeuristic we observe in the film pawns in a virtual world, which are choreographed and directed by the filmmaker. We are part of the game of his own and the simulated identity. In these strange moments we explore innermost desires and curiosities, which we would never know otherwise.

Surface Glaze

Deutschland 2015, 8:00 Min.
Regie: Lotte Meret Effinger

The video work Surface Glaze deals with the dissolution of human bodies and their occupation by prostheses and parasites. For this purpose an aesthetic is used which links to consumer- and advertising industry: By exploiting the technology of consumer industry values as uniqueness and individuality become immanent.

Something About Silence

Deutschland 2015, 12:22 Min.
Regie: Patrick Buhr

You are here, because you are boring. Let the audio-visual experience sink into your subconscious in order to become more exciting and fashionable.

Plateau

Deutschland 2015, 12:43 Min.
Regie: Vanessa Nica Mueller

One seems lost in an empty, abandoned urban scenario. Two find a place of shelter in a provisional room. Plateau is about a dystopian alienation, an isolation which, arising from the inner world of the protagonists, has inscribed itself in the exterior world. The locations chosen for Plateau were so-called shrinking cities in Germany.

Lucky

Deutschland 2015, 11:00 Min.
Regie: Ines Christine Geißer,
Kirsten Carina Geißer

Lucky is looking for happiness. This animated short is questioning our search as well as its aim: What does luck mean for the individual? Is failure the only possibility?

MY BBY 8L3W

Frankreich/Deutschland 2014, 3:30 Min.
Regie: Art Collective NEOZOON

A thirty track installation about women who present their pets on the internet. They declare all their love of their pedigree dogs and cats.

Moon Blink

Österreich/Deutschland 2015, 10:00 Min.
Regie: Rainer Kohlberger

Moon Blink was entirely generated by complex software, no camera was used. The result of this formal method is an abstract digital artwork that not only manages to convince thanks to its mathematical precision, but primarily also due to its incredible beauty and surprising narrative structure.

PRELUDE: CLOSE ALLIANCE

Zeitgenössische Experimentalfilme und Video-Kunst aus Deutschland
Präsentiert von AG Kurzfilm und German Films, Premiere

Zum dritten Mal stellt die AG Kurzfilm eine Kompilation aus Filmen von Nachwuchskünstlern zusammen – der Untertitel weist bereits auf den Fokus des Programmes hin: zeitgenössische Experimentalfilme und Video-Kunst aus Deutschland. Es ist bemerkenswert, dass Film- und Video-Kunst in einer Kompilation vereint werden können, zwei Welten, die sich jeweils und bis vor kurzem noch gänzlich ausschlossen, ein gegensätzliches Publikum adressierten und verschiedene Produktionsansätze verfolgten.

Die Kompilation steht allerdings symptomatisch für eine aktuelle Entwicklung innerhalb der Branche des Bewegtbildes. In den letzten zwei Jahren sind die Grenzen zwischen Kino und der Welt der Kunst verschmolzen. Auf der ganzen Welt zeigt sich auf Filmfestivals, aber auch in den Kunstmärkten, dass Filmemacher und Künstler nach Solidarität streben.

Möglicherweise werden die heutigen Bezeichnungen – Experimentalfilm, Kurzfilm. Kunstfilm, Videokunst, zeitbasierte Medienkunst – irgendwann irrelevant sein. Dennoch ist es unumgänglich zu verstehen, dass junge Künstler eine Stimme haben, dass sie einen entscheidenden Beitrag zum aktuellen Diskurs leisten. Denn Entwicklung funktioniert nur durch echte Innovation und neuen Input.
In diesem Sinn sind wir sehr begeistert von den neuen Künstlern, die für die diesjährige Kompilation ausgewählt wurden. Marlene Denningmann, Alexandar Radan, Lotte Meret, Patrick Buhr, Vanessa Nica ­Mueller, Ines Christine und Kirsten Carina Geißer, NEOZOON und Rainer Kohlberg – diesen Namen werden wir sicherlich in den nächsten Jahren noch öfter begegnen.

Olaf Stüber ist der Initiator und Kurator von Videoart at Midnight, einem Kunstkino-Projekt in Berlin, das er zusammen mit dem Sammler Ivo Wessel leitet. Er ist außerdem Herausgeber, der Videoart at Midnight Edition, Kunstberater und hält Vorträge. 

Alfred Rotert (European Media Art Festival Osnabrück), Giovanna Thiery ( Stuttgarter Filmwinter-Festival for Expanded Media), Anne Turek (AG Kurzfilm), Insa Wiese (International Short Film Week Regensburg), Gerhard Wissner (Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival), waren die Mitglieder der Jury, die aus über 120 Einreichungen die Werke auswählten.

FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater, Studio, Theater tri-bühne

Kulturareal „Unterm Turm“, Eberhardstraße 61, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / S-Bahn: Haltestelle Stadtmitte / Bus: Haltestelle Wilhelmsbau

Wunschkonzert

Deutschland 2016, 12:47 Min.
Regie: Marlene Denningmann

Ein Kollektiv ist ein soziales Gebilde, deren sich freiwillig organisierende Mitglieder durch gemeinsames Handeln miteinander verbunden sind. In dieser Definition steht der Begriff „Harmonie“ für den Zusammenklang der Töne. Die Silben trennt man wie folgt: eine Gesellschaft, in der jedes Individuum durch Leistung und Wettbewerb seine Träume wahr machen kann.

in between identities

Deutschland 2015, 8:50 Min.
Regie: Aleksandar Radan

Irgendwie voyeuristisch beobachten wir Spielfiguren in einer virtuellen Welt, die vom Filmemacher choreografiert und inszeniert werden. Wir werden ein Teil des Spiels seiner eigenen und der simulierten Identität. In diesen Momenten geraten innerste Wünsche an Extreme, welche wir sonst niemals erfahren würden.

Surface Glaze

Deutschland 2015, 8:00 Min.
Regie: Lotte Meret Effinger

Die Videoarbeit Surface Glaze befasst sich mit der Auflösung menschlicher Körper, mit deren Zerfall und ihrer Besetzung durch Prothesen und Parasiten – mittels einer Ästhetik, die Anleihen bei der Konsum- und Werbeindustrie macht. Durch die Instrumentalisierung der Technologie der Konsumindustrie wird deren Kritik immanent.

Something About Silence

Deutschland 2015, 12:22 Min.
Regie: Patrick Buhr

Eine Anleitung zur Überwindung des Langweiligseins verliert sich in unbequeme Abschweifungen des Erzählers.

Plateau

Deutschland 2015, 12:43 Min.
Regie: Vanessa Nica Mueller

Ein Mann irrt durch verlassene Außenräume. Zeitgleich haben zwei Frauen in einem provisorischen Raum Schutz gefunden. Plateau erzählt von einer inneren Entfremdung der Protagonisten, von einer seltsamen urbanen Leere. Drehorte waren sogenannte schrumpfende Städte in Deutschland.

Lucky

Deutschland 2015, 11:00 Min.
Regie: Ines Christine Geißer,
Kirsten Carina Geißer

Lucky sucht nach dem Glück. In kurzen Episoden hinterfragt dieser Animationsfilm unsere Suche ebenso wie deren Ziel: Was bedeutet Glück für den Einzelnen? Können wir nur scheitern?

MY BBY 8L3W

Frankreich/Deutschland 2014, 3:30 Min.
Regie: Art Collective NEOZOON

Die Mehrkanal-Videocollage MY BBY 8L3W handelt von jungen Frauen, die ihre Haustiere auf YouTube vorstellen. Der Film liefert eine überspitzte Darstellung des Verhältnisses der Frauen zu ihren Tieren. So wird die einzelne Frau zur anonymen Masse, die gemeinsam gesprochenen Sätze zu sinnentleerten Phrasen.

Moon Blink

Österreich/Deutschland 2015, 10:00 Min.
Regie: Rainer Kohlberger

Das exklusiv mit Codes generierte Video unterlegt dessen Handlungsmodell einen eigentümlich ästhetischen Dezisionismus. Die Arbeit „zitiert“ die Außenwelt des frühen Experimentalfilms – die am Tisch gezeichneten Samples – wie auch die Innenwelt physikalischer Erscheinungen – Farberscheinungen, Energiefelder, Licht- und Tonrauschen. (Marc Ries)