Curated and presented by Nicole Rebmann

What is fake and what is real? Which references to reality are used to tell a story in a filmic reality? “We’re urgently in need of new lies to lead us through universe” (Tocotronic). On a fine line between reality and illusion perception is turned upside down, the viewer gets tricked and an individual narrative is created. Dark and strange things are being controlled, manipulated and staged in a spectacle.

FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater, Studio, Theater tri-bühne

Kulturareal „Unterm Turm“, Eberhardstraße 61, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / S-Bahn: Haltestelle Stadtmitte / Bus: Haltestelle Wilhelmsbau

Familiar Memories

Deutschland 2016, 4:00 Min.
Regie: Pol Merchan

Based on a flea market find of Super 8 family archives from the 60s. A father is placed at the center, staging himself apparently in front of the camera as a smug tyrant. A voice-over re-contextualises the images. It tells a story of what is not visible.

Convenient, Sacred, Blessed (Maud)

Deutschland 2015, 3:30 Min.
Regie: Vika Kirchenbauer

Is what we see a sports massage, a grooming ritual, a performance of physical abuse or a depiction of tenderness, where gestures stand in for emotional depth without demanding it? “Convenient is the heart that you wear on your sleeve in the morning.” The video is very indeterminate, as are the characters that populate it.

Ocean Hill Drive

Deutschland 2016, 20:49Min.
Regie: Miriam Gossing, Lina Sieckmann

As a result of an erroneously installed wind turbine, the flicker effect, which brings to mind structuralist experimental cinema, appears instead in documentary images showing the landscape and architecture of a Massachusetts coast town.

Lost and Found (Mouse on Mars & Eric D. Clark)

Deutschland 2014, 4:00 Min.
Regie: Klaus Lemke

Some music is so full of diffidence and delicacy that you have to leave it alone. Or attack it from behind.

If It Was

Großbritannien 2015, 8:52 Min.
Regie: Laure Provost

A dreamy, French-accented off-screen commentary fantasizes about the possibility of turning the museum, modern cathedral of culture, into a funhouse. The piece does not only suggest an escape from the museum as institution but, more concretely, from Munich’s Haus der Kunst’s history, created in 1937 as a showcase for Nazi art.

Captive Horizon

Österreich/Deutschland 2015, 14:00 Min.
Regie: Lukas Marxt

“Captive Horizon“ operates on a delicate line between reality and illusion. Lukas Marxt’s favourite motifs – barren landscapes, seemingly untouched by humans, but at the same time suggestively apocalyptic, and subtle changes in perception that play tricks on the observer – construct a peculiar narrative filled with mysterious angles and twists.

not even nothing can be free of ghosts

Österreich/Deutschland 2016, 11:00 Min.
Regie: Rainer Kohlberger

With a frame rate of 30 images per second, the constantly changing lines and the extreme contrasts of light and dark which escalate towards a stroboscopic lightning storm shower down on the receiving retinas. Optical illusions put the viewer beyond physical and mental limitations and let them fall into blazing corridors of light and through space and time.

Kuratiert und präsentiert von Nicole Rebmann

Was ist Fake und was ist echt? Welche Bezüge zur Wirklichkeit werden genutzt, um in einer filmischen Realität eine Geschichte zu erzählen? „Wir brauchen dringend neue Lügen, die uns durch’s Universum leiten“ (Tocotronic). Auf der feinen Linie zwischen Realität und Illusion wird die Wahrnehmung auf den Kopf gestellt, werden dem Betrachter Streiche gespielt und ein eigenes Narrativ erzeugt. Im Spektakel wird Dunkles und Fremdartiges kontrolliert, manipuliert und inszeniert.

FITZ! Zentrum für Figurentheater, Studio, Theater tri-bühne

Kulturareal „Unterm Turm“, Eberhardstraße 61, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn / S-Bahn: Haltestelle Stadtmitte / Bus: Haltestelle Wilhelmsbau

Familiar Memories

Deutschland 2016, 4:00 Min.
Regie: Pol Merchan

Basierend auf einem Flohmarktfund aus Super-8-Familienarchiven der 60er Jahre. Ein Vater, der sich vor der Kamera als selbstgefälliger Tyrann inszeniert, steht scheinbar im Mittelpunkt. Ein Voice-over verleiht den Bildern einen Kontext. Es wird erzählt, was nicht sichtbar ist.

Convenient, Sacred, Blessed (Maud)

Deutschland 2015, 3:30 Min.
Regie: Vika Kirchenbauer

Sehen wir da eine Sportmassage, ein Aufbauritual, die Darstellung körperlicher Misshandlung oder eine Beschreibung von Zärtlichkeit, bei der Gesten wie selbstverständlich für emotionale Tiefe stehen? „Convenient is the heart that you wear on your sleeve in the morning.“ Das Video ist sehr vage, genauso wie die Charaktere darin.

Ocean Hill Drive

Deutschland 2016, 20:49Min.
Regie: Miriam Gossing, Lina Sieckmann

Eine falsch installierte Windkraftanlage lässt einen an den strukturalistischen Experimentalfilm erinnernden Flicker-Effekt in Dokumentaraufnahmen von Landschaft und Architektur einer Küstenstadt in Massachusetts erscheinen.

Lost and Found (Mouse on Mars & Eric D. Clark)

Deutschland 2014, 4:00 Min.
Regie: Klaus Lemke

Manche Musik ist von so besonderer Scheu und Kitzligkeit, dass man sie lassen muss. Oder hinterrücks überfallen.

If It Was

Großbritannien 2015, 8:52 Min.
Regie: Laure Provost

Ein verträumter Off-Screen Kommentar phantasiert über die Möglichkeit, das Museum, die moderne Kathedrale der Kultur, in eine Rummelplatz-Bude zu verwandeln. Die Arbeit weist nicht nur auf ein Entkommen aus dem Museum als Institution hin, sondern konkreter aus dem Münchner Haus der Kunst, das 1937 als Präsentationsort für Nazi-Kunst entstand.

Captive Horizon

Österreich/Deutschland 2015, 14:00 Min.
Regie: Lukas Marxt

„Captive Horizon“ bewegt sich auf der feinen Linie zwischen Realität und Illusion. Lukas Marxts bevorzugte Motive – karge Landschaften, die gleichzeitig andeutungsweise apokalyptisch wirken und raffinierte Wahrnehmungswechsel, die den Zuschauern einen Streich spielen – erzeugen ein ganz besonderes Narrativ voll mysteriöser Einstellungswinkel und Wendungen.

not even nothing can be free of ghosts

Österreich/Deutschland 2016, 11:00 Min.
Regie: Rainer Kohlberger

Mit einer Bildfrequenz von 30 Bildern pro Sekunde strömen sich ständig verändernde Linien, extreme Hell-Dunkel-Kontraste, sich zum Stroboskopgewitter steigernde Lichtimpulse auf den Sehapparat ein. Sinneseindrücke, die Bewegungsillusionen hervorrufen und uns Objekte wahrnehmen lassen, die nicht vorhanden sind.