Von nun an unbequem/From now on uneasy

Rahmenprogramm
Rahmenprogramm

Curated by Nicole Rebmann
It’s time to take on a jack-knife position. To want it all but just not the easy way. Nothing is foreseeable or perfect. The desire for intoxication, touching and feeling secure. Discomfort is not an imposition. Seduction, challenge and rejection are the poles between which these films move along.

Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Pipilotti

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Please Relax Now

Germany 2014, 12:00 Min.
Regie: Vika Kirchenbauer

“This is going to be a memorable event, orchestrated by me for you.” In “Please Relax Now”, the spectators are no mere passive audience but part of the work itself. At least, Vika Kirchenbauer explicitly calls on the viewers to join in during the performance, posing the original question as to the relationship between art and consumption anew.

Summer’s Puke is Winter’s Delight

Japan 2016, 3:00 Min.
Regie: Sawako Kabuki

Painful events become memories over time. Still, we vomit and eat again. Life is Eco.

Call of Cuteness

Germany 2017, 4:00 Min.
Regie: Brenda Lien

While we watch the ‘cat fail’ of the day in cheerful safety, all that remains invisible in this neoliberal nightmare catches up with us. The fear of pain is greater than the will for freedom. Objects are fetishised and subjects are made into things. In the end, the bodies reveal the causes and effects of power, lust and hate.

Swallow

UK 2013, 12:00 Min.
Regie: Laure Prouvost

Through fragments of footage, of women bathing, fruit, birds, and mouths breathing, Prouvost explores ideas of translation, language and sensuality.

Philosophize
Philosophieren

Germany 2015, 14:30 Min.
Regie: Paul Spengemann

A group of 16 to 18 year old friends is spending a weekend in the holiday home of their parents. The film starts in daylight and merges into the darkness of an excessive and scattered night while we accompany six characters in its profit from knowledge and the experience of incomprehension and uncertainty.

Final Stage

Germany 2017, 32:00 Min.
Regie: Nicolaas Schmidt

Enjoy the Party, Enjoy your Night, Enjoy your Freedom, Enjoy the Love, Enjoy your Life, Enjoy the Colors, Enjoy your Style. Times are hard, modern and bitter. A teenage boy in “Europes Largest Shopping Mall”. He sheds lonely tears over someone. He senses that something is wrong. Brutalism, Sadness, Consumerism – Enjoy a Contemporary Love Story.

Razzle Dazzle

USA 2014, 5:00 Min.
Regie: Jodie Mack

Razzle Dazzle is an iridescent animated flicker film about textiles which lend a new and dizzying dimension to the illusion of glamour. In her usual psychedelic style, Jodie Mack takes a look at the material production of desire.

Von nun an unbequem/From now on uneasy

Rahmenprogramm
Rahmenprogramm

Kuratiert von Nicole Rebmann
Zeit, sich querzustellen. Alles wollen, nur nicht einfach. Nichts ist vorhersehbar oder perfekt. Sehnsucht nach Rausch, Berührung und Geborgenheit. Unbehagen ist keine Zumutung. Verführung, Herausforderung und Abstoßung – das sind die Pole, zwischen denen sich die Filme bewegen.

Filmwinter-Palais – Saal Pipilotti

Filmwinter-Palais

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 2, 70173 Stuttgart

U-Bahn, Bus: Haltestelle Charlottenplatz

Please Relax Now

Deutschland 2014, 12:00 Min.
Regie: Vika Kirchenbauer

„Dies wird ein unvergesslicher Moment werden, orchestriert von mir für Dich.“ In „Please Relax Now“ sind die ZuschauerInnen kein passives Publikum, sondern Teil der Arbeit selbst. Zumindest fordert Kirchenbauer die Betrachter in der Performance explizit zum Mitmachen auf und stellt originell die Frage nach dem Verhältnis von Kunst und Konsum neu.

Summer’s Puke is Winter’s Delight

Japan 2016, 3:00 Min.
Regie: Sawako Kabuki

Schmerzvolle Ereignisse werden mit der Zeit zu Erinnerungen. Und doch, wir übergeben uns und essen weiter. Leben ist Eco.

Call of Cuteness

Deutschland 2017, 4:00 Min.
Regie: Brenda Lien

Während wir heil und munter den KatzenFail des Tages gucken, holt uns alles, was unsichtbar bleibt in diesem neoliberalen Albtraum, wieder ein. Die Angst vor Schmerz ist größer als der Wille zur Freiheit. Objekte werden fetischisiert und Subjekte zu Dingen gemacht. Am Ende offenbaren die Körper die Ursachen und Wirkungen von Macht, Lust und Hass.

Swallow

Großbritannien 2013, 12:00 Min.
Regie: Laure Prouvost

Anhand bruchstückhaften Filmmaterials von badenden Frauen, Früchten, Vögeln und atmenden Mündern untersucht Prouvost Vorstellungen von Übersetzung, Sprache und Sinnlichkeit.

Philosophize
Philosophieren

Deutschland 2015, 14:30 Min.
Regie: Paul Spengemann

In der Zerrissenheit zwischen Erwachsenwerden und Jugendlichsein durchlebt eine Gruppe von Freunden ein Wochenende im Ferienhaus der Eltern. Ein Film, der im Hellen beginnt und in die Dunkelheit einer exzessiven Nacht übergeht, während er sechs Charaktere bei ihrem Gewinn von Erkenntnissen sowie dem Erleben von Unverständnis und Unsicherheit begleitet.

Final Stage

Deutschland 2017, 32:00 Min.
Regie: Nicolaas Schmidt

Enjoy the Party, Enjoy your Night, Enjoy your Freedom, Enjoy the Love, Enjoy your Life, Enjoy the Colors, Enjoy your Style. Die Zeiten sind hart, modern und bitter. Ein Junge in „Europas längster Shopping Mall“. Er weint einsam jemandem nach. Er spürt, dass etwas nicht stimmt. Brutalism, Sadness, Consumerism – enjoy a contemporary love story.

Razzle Dazzle

USA 2014, 5:00 Min.
Regie: Jodie Mack

Razzle Dazzle ist eine flickernde Animation funkelnder Textilien, die der Illusion von Glamour eine neue, schwindelerregende Dimension verleiht. In gewohnt psychedelischer Manier thematisiert Jodie Mack die materielle Produktion von Verlangen.